Backups

Available for:
Free
Premium
Business

Never worry about losing your projects, tasks, and comments. If you’re a Premium or Business user, your Todoist automatically creates backup files for the active tasks in all of your current projects. You can easily restore a project at any time.

Downloading a backup

  1. In the top-right corner of your Todoist, click the gear icon.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Open the Backups tab.
  4. Click download next to any of the daily automatic backups. This will start a download for a ZIP file containing CSV files for each of your current projects including all active tasks (completed tasks and archived projects are not included).

Backups can only be accessed via web, macOS, or Windows (legacy) apps.

You can also click + Create Backup at the bottom of your backups tab to manually create a backup of all of your active projects.

Restoring a backup

  1. Create a new project.
  2. Click on project actions icon in the top-right corner.
  3. Select Import from template.
  4. Choose (or drag and drop) the CSV file from your computer that corresponds to the project you want to restore.
  1. Create a new project.
  2. In the top-right corner, click on the three dots icon.
  3. Select Import from template.
  4. Choose (or drag and drop) the CSV file from your computer that corresponds to the project you want to restore.

Backups can only be restored via web, macOS, Windows (legacy), or Windows 10 apps.

All the active tasks, due dates, comments, and files from the backed up project will be added to the new project.

Even though your project backups only include active projects and tasks, we also backup all user data (including completed tasks and archived projects) on our servers. All of your data is safe and secure. You can read our full data security policy for more details.

FAQs

Q: Is there a maximum amount of backups that can be created and stored?

A: Up to 21 backups are automatically created and stored, any older backups will be overwritten and deleted.

Q: How often does Todoist create a new backup?

A: Backups are created once a day on days that you’ve logged in to your Todoist and made any changes.

Q: I’m trying to download a backup using the macOS or Windows legacy app, but nothing happens. What’s wrong?

A: Please make sure that you’re logged in on the same Todoist account on the web app. If you’re not logged in with your Todoist account, the backup can’t be downloaded.

Q: I have accidentally deleted a project and I’m on the free plan. Can I upgrade to Premium or Business to access a backup and restore it?

A: Unfortunately, that’s not possible. Backups are only created from the day an account is upgraded to Premium or Business.